powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hardly snowbound

So yeah, the skies dumped around 18-24 inches of snow on us. It snowed steadily from Saturday night through Sunday afternoon, and then it stopped.

The NH green was really pretty. We took a walk around 4 pm yesterday to go look at it in all its white-blanketed, Thomas Kincade-esque New England �this is the church, this is the steeple� quaintness.

Today is fine. The streets are not as plowed as I would insist upon if I were mayor, but you can hardly expect people to live up to my ridiculous standards. I barely live up to them!

I�m still mystified by how seldom the streets are cleared of snow, in a place where it routinely snows in the winter. Shouldn�t there just be battalions of plows at the ready? Working non-stop once the snow abates? This morning, downtown NH still had 4 to 7 inches of chunky uneven snow on the street surfaces, and cars were swerving out of control through intersections. Thank god we had the sense and resources to get a car with all-wheel drive.

I love it when it�s cold out. It�s an excuse to read the New York Times cover to cover, bake and drink hot apple cider. For breakfast on Sunday I made a cinnamon coffee cake while TA did homework, then in the evening we switched cooking duties and TA made an Alsacian tarte � l�oignon (Zewalawaia) for dinner. After some more homework, we watched a little Olympic snowboarding.

You know, I love the Olympics. I love all that brotherhood crap, and I have a cubic ton of respect for true athletes. But those 18 year old halfpipe kids? Are they really athletes? On the same level as a Bruce Jenner? Or a Jackie Joyner Kersee? Maybe I�m old, but I feel like introducing halfpipe and freestyle skiing to the Olympics was simple pandering to a younger demographic. I don�t know who they were pandering to with the Curling, though. Is there a broom lobby that I�m unaware of?

Speaking of Curling, when TA and I were in Montreal last summer, he bought himself a Canadian Olympic team jacket. He wore it to a party in LA, and everyone kept asking him if he was Canadian.

�No, I�m not Canadian,� waving his cocktail around, �but I am a champion hurler!�

5:11 p.m. - 2006-02-13

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: