powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Je participe au pass�

Call me crazy, but I�m lately obsessed with acquiring a Bessa R camera.

As the world becomes more and more digital, I am more and more interested in things that are totally manual.

For example today we went to a giant bicycle sale so that TA could get some things for his road bike. We mistakenly walked into the actual big bicycle blowout section, and some guy approached me saying, �Are you looking for a bike?�

And TA replied, �She�s real picky. She wants a Pee-Wee bike. I don�t think you have those.�

Bike Guy: �Oh, you mean a cruiser? We have those.�

Me: �No, not the new ones. They�re too big for me, anyway. They�re too modern. I want something really old.�

I could hardly explain to this guy that what I really want is a heavy black bike, the kind that Parisians and Dutch folks tool around on. I even like the Swedish kind. I don�t want anything high-tech, I don�t want light or aerodynamic, I don�t want sporty.

I never want what�s available or practical. I always want something from the Land Before Time or My Birth. Which means everything has to be researched and tagged at Ebay. Sometimes I wish I could just be in the present, want what�s available and be satisfied.

Like with the camera. It�s basically a Leica M, but much cheaper. There�s nothing automatic about it. And what do you know, it looks like it comes from the 50s.

5:31 p.m. - 2006-04-01

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: