powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There's no excuse for bad manners

Dear rue-madame and her older sister,

I apologize for not letting you know sooner, but things have been really crazy for me for the last few weeks (what with working 2 jobs again.) I also regret the fact that I have to do this over email, but it seems that this is the most efficient way to reach both of you!

Well here goes � New Boyfriend and I eloped and got married on the beach in Mexico while we were on vacation. We got married on Friday March 31st at sunset; we were barefoot in the sand and it was beautiful. Just when you think you�ll never wear a bridesmaid�s dress twice � think again (that�s what I wore!) I�ve included a few photos in the email for you. I�m very happy and look forward to when you both can meet him. He�s really great and probably the best thing that�s ever happened to me.

His family is also very nice � they�ve welcomed me into their fold with open arms. I�ve already had to learn about 20 names and apparently that�s only the tip of the iceberg. We will have a wedding here in SF sometime in the near future � we�re planning on getting married at Saint Whatever�s church (the same one where our parents met.) The date has not been set yet, but that�s sure to happen soon. We should know soon since we will be meeting with the priest in a few weeks and we�ll probably be able to reserve the date then.

Sorry to have to announce it to you like this, but I couldn�t figure out how else to do it!

Love, YoungerSister

PS: I�m also in the process of changing my name. It will be YoungerSister HusbandsLastName in a matter of a couple of weeks. I think that my email at work will automatically redirect messages to my new email address, but just in case it doesn�t, you can email me at blahblahblahNewLastNamedotcom.

Here�s what I really want to know:

1. An email three weeks after the fact is the best way to reach me? I have 2 phone numbers, and 5 email accounts which I check compulsively.
2. If it was an elopement, why was a) your hair perfectly styled, b) your makeup expertly applied, c) your outfits matching, and why was the whole affair d) captured by a professional photographer? I didn�t realize elopements were so� elaborately orchestrated?
3. Why have you taken to wearing a cross around your neck? Are you going to have to be Confirmed before you can advance to the next sacrament? I do not understand this sudden religiosity. What name are you going with for the Confirmation? Or do you not know yet because your husband hasn�t picked it for you? (ouch, that was uncalled for!)
4. Do you really think that you are any busier than either of us (I run my own company and work 6-7 days a week, OlderSister is the CFO of a non-profit and routinely clocks 15 hour days,) so busy that you couldn�t spare 5 minutes to tell us over the phone? I don�t understand the need for such secrecy, especially considering you all but announced your engagement to the WORLD on MySpace and Friendster.
5. Let�s face it: was it really the busyness of two jobs? Or was it cowardice? Are we such shitty sisters that we don�t even deserve the courtesy of respect or grace? Do you truly �regret� using email to convey this message, or are you privately relieved?

Of course that is not what I replied. Never let it be said that 7 years of yoga have not taught me some important lessons in how to observe what I�m feeling, process those emotions, then throw them away (or post them on this diary) if I find them to be counter-productive or emotionally destructive.

I said this instead:

Congratulations, LittleSister! Those photos are adorable, you both look thrilled to pieces. Happy news indeed. Can't wait to meet this mysterious HisLastName character.

xo rue-madame

ps: I hope you and NewHusband will be moving into a new apartment. It would be such a shame to burden a new beginning with the bad juju at StreetName.

7:27 p.m. - 2006-04-22

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: