powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where they pour coca cola just like vintage wine

We made the yummiest dinner for our guests the other night. Since they had treated us to an elaborate and authentic Korean feast, we felt obliged to create a meal that was somehow American.

For the record, I don�t really know what that is. I mean, yes, I know in theory what Americans eat for dinner, but I never cook that way.

So for the famous Korean radio producer and his wife, we made pork chops (with a melon/mint jelly* glaze,) applesauce, mashed potatoes and a green salad.

* I couldn�t resist using this crazy jelly that my friend Guylaine gave to me last year when we were in France. I�ve been looking for a use for it, since it�s not really the type of jelly you can put on toast.

I was going to make a strawberry-rhubarb pie for dessert, but the strawberries were 1) ugly and 2) more expensive than gold, so I opted for tiramisu. Which is not American, but which is 1) very easy to make and 2) fantastic. The Koreans practically licked the serving dish.

Things here have been kind of quiet. Which is fine. I�m so busy with projects that by the time I get home, all I want to do is either go to sleep or watch DVDs of Rescue Me. Last night, I think I called it a night at 9:30 pm.

Today, TA has another round of interviews (3, to be exact) for a summer job at a technology firm in Silicon Valley. Cross your fingers that it pays more than the Barbie internship. As much as I�d love to spend the summer in LA, I think the tech job would be better for TA. As long as I can find decent yoga in the area and bring my laptop, I�ll be fine�

12:23 p.m. - 2006-05-23

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: