powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Next leg

Today's leg: Kentucky, Indiana, Illinois, Missouri and Kansas.

I've been using Road Food as my eating guide, and we've had some bad luck with timing. Gus' Pretzels for example? Closed on Mondays. Goody Goody Diner? Closed after 2 pm. By early Kansas we were starving to death, and I had to abandon Jane and Michael Stern's advice and eat at Taco Bell.

So another first on this road trip! The Hot Brown in Louisville was a first, and so was my visit to Taco Bell. Believe it or not, I have never eaten there in my whole, entire life.

In St. Louis, we stopped at Saarinen's great arch of the West. It is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen. Photos can't really capture its majesty, but here goes anyway...

And here's a photo from the tippy top observation deck--possibly one of the most claustrophia- and agoraphobia-inducing places on earth.

Now we are in Olathe, a suburb of Kansas City because that's where one of TA's brothers lives. He's out "visiting"; I'm in the hotel room "working."

Tomorrow I intend to eat some bbq.

10:59 p.m. - 2006-06-12

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: