powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Open your Golden Gate...

I�m sitting on the floor of our new apartment in San Mateo/Burlingame. It�s really cute! If it weren�t for the beige carpeting, this place would completely rock: it�s got 1940s yellow tile in the bathroom, tons of windows, it�s on the 3rd floor surrounded by leafy trees and singing birds, and it�s probably a good 100 sq/ft to 200/sq/ft bigger than our place in Connecticut. The kitchen alone is HUGE.

Plus it�s in California! 3 blocks from Peet�s, a mile from a Pancho Villa Super Burrito and 1.25 miles from really great friends (with a brand new baby who will one day be adorable but for now simply looks like a wrinkled old man. He�s 3 weeks old, so I�m cutting him a break.)

I think it will be hard to leave in August.

TA is already at work. Today I�ve got to order some sort of high-speed internet connection (I can�t steal the neighbors wi-fi all summer long,) investigate local yoga classes, and maybe do some work? It�s kinda hard without a table and chair, but I do have clients who are waiting for me to get active over here.

I met YoungerSister�s new husband and though the meeting was brief, I was unimpressed. I am naturally predisposed to not like/trust him, so it�s unfair of me to judge� but when has that ever stopped me? Ha. TA objects to the guy based on his a) choice of vehicle (a shiny black GMC stepside truck, lowered, with ridonculous P Diddy chrome rims) and b) his dirt bike hobby (white trash.) As my older sister pointed out, �You know, TA worked really hard to escape that East Bay white trash shit, and now she has to drag it back here? What the hell?�

Anyway, YoungerSister looked happy, and gave us a comforter and some sheets for the summer. My mother loaned us towels, all-clad pans (who has extra $200 pans lying around?), flatware, dishes� anything we buy that�s additional, we will just hand over to my nephew for his dorm room in August. It�s good that we travel light.

This weekend, we're off to LA so that TA can accept his award from GiantToyCompany, and I can do yoga and hang out with our Southern CA friends.

Yay! It's good to be home.

9:52 a.m. - 2006-06-19

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: