powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Assurancetourix, but way less funny

COBRA ran out, and we�ve now got insurance through TA�s school.

I don�t have a co-pay for dr�s visits (which is nice,) but in one prescription refill, I�ve reached our maximum yearly deduction. Yesterday at the pharmacy, I had to shell out $499 for a month�s supply of medicine.

This is WITH coverage. Next month, I don�t think it will be covered at all, and I�m looking at $700. JUST FOR ONE DRUG. FOR ONE MONTH ONLY.

The pharmacist, trying to be helpful, said, �You don�t have to take it� meaning that I could just walk away from the counter and she would simply restock or send everything back to the distributor. She was profusely apologetic about how much the medication cost.

I looked at her and said, �Not taking the medicine is not an option, but I appreciate your trying to come up with alternatives.� She reached into the register and pulled out a $3 coupon and said, �This is the least I can do. Health insurance is such a nightmare. I hate this part of my job.�

TA was immediately drenched in sweat and freaking out. I was a bit upset, but I�d been expecting this sort of a healthcare disaster for a while. I don�t really have the energy to cry or scream or stomp my feet anymore.

This is one of the major reasons I am going to begin looking for a fulltime job soon. I don�t see any other way for me to survive�professionally or personally�without someone else footing the healthcare bill. I am uninsurable on my own.

Needless to say, the Bumble & Bumble haircut I was looking forward to has been cancelled.

2:41 p.m. - 2006-11-13

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: