powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From good to cranky

Thanks to an article in the NY Times, I applied to a prescription assistance program and actually qualified. At first I felt bad about helping to sustain the drug companies� exorbitant prices, but self-interest and fear of being immobilized by pain got the better of me.

If there�s an organization that�s going to help pay for my meds, I�m going to take advantage. I don�t make enough money to sustain spending $700+ every month.

I�ve also used the Times to find out about new drugs, new treatments, etc. It�s to the point where whenever I mention one of these discoveries to my rheumatologist, she says, �Wow. I didn�t realize that that one had gotten FDA approval already. How�d you find out?� It helps, too, that I scour the Arthritis Foundation�s, the Johns Hopkins�, and the Mayo Clinic�s sites for info. I try to spend as much time investigating treatments that can help me as I spend reading crap gossip sites. It�s the only way I can stand myself.*

* If I confessed just how much actual brain time I spend reading bullshit about Britney�s crotch shots, Lindsay�s PhotoShopped crotch shots, Nelly Furtado�s Botox addiction, Nicole Kidman�s laying off the Botox and getting bangs in anticipation of being pregnant, random celebutard nonsense like how the Donald criticized Graydon�s hair (that is one serious WTF?) I�d lose any shred of credibility I have.

But the NY Times also irritates, especially the Style section. Don�t get me wrong�the Sunday Style section is the first piece of the paper I grab for on weekends. I guess I don�t understand how the paper can so often be post-trend so blatantly. Like, ok: How do they explain Alex Kuczynski and her lame-ass pretentious pap? Without getting Gawker on you, she is so lame. The only folks who report anything interesting are the ones with maybe some journalistic credentials? Not just society/wealthy/WASPy types who basically just turn their hobby shopping into a career? And then turn their plastic splurgery �addiction� into a book deal?

From book deal to film rights: Julie/Julia.

Pfttt.

2:43 p.m. - 2006-12-06

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: