powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Act your age or your shoe size

The dj on kxlu played my all time favorite Elvis Costello song: 5ive Gears in Reverse.

That put me in a really good mood, and it was just the panacea I needed to get this next phase of stupid work done.

Every other word out of my mouth has been, �Fuck!�, �GODfuckingDAMMIT!� or �Motherfuck!� It�s a good thing I don�t work in a typical office, or I�d have to gag myself in order not to offend.

It�s not that the work itself is hard; it just annoys me. I don�t like having to ape some hack designer�s style (if that�s what you can call it.) There are so many opportunities to make this book GOOD, and it�s frustrating having to control my impulse to improve things.

An exercise in letting go if there ever was one. Non-attachment, here I come!

This project is all I�ve been talking about lately, and I apologize for being a broken record. I will now attempt to change gears... and go forward.

I had dinner at Luna Park the other night. It was a nice way to spend a lot of money. I ordered a bottle of some Bonny Doon wine that I�ve always liked, and drank it too quickly, so that when the bill came and I took charge of it, I was counting like a nincompoop, not making any sense of the giant pile of bills. Some grownup I am becoming!

Which leads me to this: in yoga today, my teacher was talking about how there�s a belief (from somewhere... I didn�t ask for her sources) that you are as old as your spine. And we were in the middle of backbends. Anyway, evidently people with flexible spines generally appear younger, either because their movements are more fluid and assured, or because there�s a mysterious connection between the vertebrae and aging.

If you think about it, it kinda makes sense. When you�re a kid, your spine is a limber S curve; you�re always running, and jumping and climbing and skipping. As you get older, you become less elastic because you move and stretch far less, and over time, your spine becomes stiffer. And this applies not only to the body...

It�s all a bit self-congratulatory to say that to a room full of yoga students-- �Hi! Aren�t we great and haven�t we found the Fountain of Youth?�--but it made everyone feel really good, so... is it really so wrong? For a brief moment, I stuffed a sock in my inner critic and enjoyed some fleeting warmfuzzy.

I believe I�m 12 years old: a sorta bossy, sometimes know-it-all, goofy girl with occasional ridiculously fancy airs. And right now a disfiguring pimple.

How old are you?

5:30 p.m. - 2003-11-04

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: