powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gr-attitude

We emptied the Dyson so that we would be able to see just how much dust and dirt and car hair it would collect in one vacuuming session at the new place.

And you know what?

It picked up a LOT.

Terence was horrified, sounding exactly like my mother. �How can people live with all of that hair? How can they sleep knowing it�s hiding in every recess, every corner? How can they think their apartment is clean?�

Re: dust or cat hair
If you can�t see it, it�s not there. And if you don�t have allergies, you don�t sense its presence.

After an hour of cleaning, my allergies were in full swing. I had forgotten to take an antihistamine so by the end of the day, I had itchy skin, watery eyes, and the sniffles. No asthma, thank god. That would have been a total bummer. �Welcome to your new apartment! The apartment that sends you to the emergency room!�

The studio is 80% finished. We need to move all of my crap in, arrange it, get the phone lines/DSL set up and then it�ll be ready. I can�t wait to have a space dedicated to work and creative pursuits.

Pity that I wasn�t able to get this off the ground in the cities I actually WANTED to live in, but I�m trying to take advantage of being here. Yeah, it�s boring and I�m not sold on New England charm, but hey, I finally have the means to own an apartment, lease a studio space, perhaps take a November trip to Paris, and drive a newish car. And I still have a boyfriend who rocks my small, self-centered universe (scroll to bottom.) I am attempting to embrace the silver lining.

For example, I am not going to be bitter that I am not going to see New York City Ballet or that I missed the last Jose Limon series with my favorite dancer in the world (favorite because a) he is beautiful to watch, and b) he was in my dance classes in college and I know him to be not only talented but also fantastically swell.) I am not going to be sad that I don�t have tickets for Rilo Kiley or Mouse on Mars, or seats for �The Foreigner� with Matthew Br0derick.

I got a cute haircut and life is ok.

3:16 p.m. - 2004-10-04

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: