powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gearing up for more work and a visitor

I called the phone company and am having new phone lines put in at my studio. This happens on Friday.

Once that's done, I can arrange the furniture etc, and move on to the bigger apartment issues.

Mlle Culotte was admiring my ass-kicking and name-taking single-minded focus, and she�s not the only one impressed. I am normally more peace-loving Ferdinand than Busy Beaver, and this attitude of mine is definitely surprising me. Don�t get me wrong: when I have deadlines or I have to crank out work, I can and do. It�s just not my normal MO. In this instance, I feel like if I let my concentration waver for even a moment, I will be stuck in this boring hamlet forever and that CANNOT HAPPEN. I would rather die. Fear as Potent Motivator. (Hey, it works for the Republicans�)

DSL will be turned on 4 days after the phone line is hooked up. I don�t know how I will deal with not having an internet connection for that long (not well. I anticipate a nanotantrum.) TA is worried and sent me an email inquiring, �No internet for a week? Can you handle that?�

To which I responded, �As long as I�ve got my bucket and Detox Poncho, I think I�ll be fine.� The Seinfeld reference made me giggle to myself.

DSL, the new crack? Crack is whack, yo. I�ve got to surrender to a higher power, and find alternative uses of my time cause I sure can fritter away the hours on the web and with email. I really think that DSL is the gateway drug to harder things like Instant Messenjah�talk about time suckage! I can spend hours pinging friends, chatting back and forth with that stupid thing.

Without DSL to distract, I can learn Flash all over again. Or redesign my portfolio. Or clean up my filing system. Do one hundred things more pressing than sustaining friendships across the country and coddling my mental health.

Harriet is on her way to visit at this very moment! She is taking Amtrak from Boston to NH, and staying until Thursday. I can�t believe I haven�t seen her since February! That is so crazy. In LA, I saw her nearly every single day cause she lived at Fairfax/Santa Monica, and I lived at Beverly/Fairfax�we were probably the only two people in all of LA who would actually WALK to eachother�s houses for play dates. I can�t wait.

I am cleaning and arranging before she gets here. It�s kind of a nice occasion to scrub the sinks, decrustify the stove, put the laundry away, and recycle. Not that I don�t do most of that on a daily basis�I just don�t get NeutrogenaDeepClean like that every day. I don�t care if she doesn�t notice. I�LL NOTICE cause I�m insane like that.

Enough frittering. It�s Hammer time.

2:19 p.m. - 2004-10-05

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: