powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Le rhume

�In the immemorial style of young men under pressure, they decided to lie down for a while and waste time.�

I am not a young man, but this is precisely how I deal with stressful work.

By the way, this is my favorite sentence in The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon. I�m re-reading it because I�ve been recruited for a book club and this is what the members have chosen to read. I am happy to report that the book is even better the second time around. I have a tendency to wolf down books and often miss details in my zeal; that�s why I often end up reading things twice, and there are a ton of motifs in Kavalier & Clay that are finally becoming clear to me.

I�m sort of dreading the book club meeting because I am frankly not interested in anyone else�s opinion. Does this surprise you? No, of course not. I�m worried I might lose some respect for people once they reveal that they hate the book, or have some cockamamie explanation that I find useless, senseless or foundationless. It used to drive me nuts at school when some nimrod would raise his hand and broadcast his idiocy to the class--if it was a person I thought had some intelligence, I would mentally cross them off my list, and pretend I never entertained thoughts of befriending them. I don�t really mind that much if you don�t like what I like, so long as you make a compelling case for your disagreement.

Last night I had a fever and shuffled over to Canter�s for some restorative matzo ball soup. It was pretty salty but made my throat feel so much better. I may have some again tonight for dinner, as insurance against this dastardly bug.

4:47 p.m. - 2002-01-18

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: