powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

work is the curse of the drinking class

It�s been a long, long time since I�ve said this, but... work is ruining my life.

An alleged friend of mine pointed out that maybe one reason I�m feeling so besieged by this new project is that I�m out of practice. I disagree. My new client requests freshly designed book sections, and then wants to see the layouts the very next day. This is abnormally fast and I am one of those freakishly fast designers!

At this rate, the project will meet the crazy deadline. I knew that the schedule would be nuts when I accepted the assignment. I was prepared for speed. I just didn�t expect this client to be one of those �give �em an inch, they�ll take a mile� types. Boy, was I wrong.

Fortunately, I�m not designing anything original. I�m just copying work that another designer did a few months ago, so it�s not like I�m having to conceptualize 288 original pages. The approval process on the first go-round was so horrible that it�s a miracle that anything at all got the ok. My client is scared to death to present anything that looks different, so I have been asked to mimic the other guy�s work.

Boy, is the book ugly! I�m debating whether or not to give myself a design credit on this one, because I don�t know if I want something so down-market and cheesy to bear my name.

Besides working too much, I have also done this:

- made meatballs from scratch

- bought a sheer white LaCosa knock-off t-shirt that is comfy and surprisingly sexy

- splurged on a bottle of Seghesio zinfandel

- danced at Par Avion to the sounds of Majestic, an adorable local pop band

- realized that I am connected to both Ch�n Marshall and Dav�d Cross via Friendster, and it�s not, like, 200 degrees of separation, it�s more like 4

- speaking of Friendster, received two flattering testimonials that made me feel loved and special

- ignored some ugly cretin at school who was unslyly trying to get my attention

- rocked my boyfriend�s world (he just told me to write that, but you know, I have many talents)

- poked at some low-priority blemish that, thanks to my excessive attention, has ballooned into a full-blown pimple

- started and finished The Lovely Bones

I don�t have anything to add except that tonight I intend to spend part of my asthma research study check on dinner at a restaurant.

5:51 p.m. - 2003-11-02

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: