powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LA-SF-LA in 3 days

I am in SF, sitting in Mr Bingo�s apartment, listening to the rain and a little Vic Damone. What could be better?

This visit has been a 2-day whirlwind, but it�s been fun. The best part has been staying here, instead of at my insane parents� house. It is much more relaxing and calm, even with the streetcar clattering by every 15 minutes. I�ll take random urban noise any day over my mother�s simmering anger and my father�s gnashing.

I bought my nephew a new skate deck, and the guys at the shop were super nice. Terence said it�s because they never see girls in there. Thanks, and I thought it was my adorability to charm.

We went bowling at Yerba Buena for my nephew�s birthday and I had no idea that was possible. You can even ice skate which is a trip, and there was some kid on the ice doing all sorts of Kristi Yamaguchi maneuvers. When I was little, there was an indoor ice rink out in the avenues but we hardly ever went because getting there was a pain in the ass. And it smelled funny.

I am not a bowler. The first game I had the lowest score (something like 28?) but after a little coaching from Terence and from my sisters, I improved. After that, we fucked around Yerba Buena, playing in the kid�s area and going down slides. Then we discovered all the teenagers doing crimes. We busted two kids either huffing or graffiti-ing (the smell of spray paint coming off of them was dizzying), some other kids �grab-assing� as my father likes to say, other random teens drinking beers and smoking cigarettes.

Aahhhh, youth. Totally wasted on the young.

I brought one outfit with me: cropped 501s, tshirt, pull marin, monkey boots. This was my insurance against trying to make tons of plans with tons of people. When you don�t have your sassy wear, you don�t feel like being seen, and you�re less likely to go to Marc Jacobs (and other places) to spend money you don�t have. I didn�t even go downstairs to the Orbit Room. I just drank wine and champale in Mr Bingo�s mid-century jewelbox.

Oh, and he left me presents! A vintage umbrella with a lucite handle, and a cd.

The clock is ticking and I must jump in the shower. We have a brunch date before we get back on the road.

9:53 a.m. - 2003-11-15

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: