powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Pointer Sisters can still kiss my ass

I sent out an email to my sisters a while back, "I'm sorry to do this again, but I've already got plans for Saturday during the day! The friends we're supposed to see are actually in France right now; when they get back, I'll check to see if we can reschedule with them to have a Sat.brunch for our mother.�

That was my olive branch. I figured it�s dumb to just announce that you can�t do something; you should try to come up with a potential solution. I then made the mistake of mentioning that my time in SF was limited, that each day was accounted for with activities and other people. The goal was to let them know that I�ve been planning this trip for a while, and that I thought we all were ok with dinner at my parents� house on Saturday night.

It was a mistake to assert myself in the form of my schedule because my two sisters are some of the most self-involved people I know. Deep down, I knew I would just be causing trouble because there was no way in hell that either one of them would make a time sacrifice for me. I got kinda riled up (which has been happening a lot lately, and it could be that I haven�t gotten my period in over a month! And no, I�m not pregnant.)

Anyway, things always must go my sisters� way. It�s maddening. For most of my life I�ve just stepped back and let them have the floor and do what they want. It�s simply too exhausting having arguments with them and enduring the silent treatment, or worse yet, knowing that the two are allied against you. Time usually solves all of this petty crap, right? So I usually just hang back and let water go under the proverbial bridge.

No disrespect to the Capricorn ladies out there, but honest to god, you fucking women are insane! Both of my sisters are Capricorns, and they are totally impossible. I�ve checked with other non-Capricorn women and have found that there are a lot of us who do not get along with that particular sign of the zodiac. I know it�s probably coincidental, but at this point in my life, what should I believe? Well for one, I should believe that this goes along perfectly with my theory that my Lesson in Life is to learn Patience, and how better to do this than by being related to two utterly crackers women who test my resolve at every turn!

I am hoping that my friends will come back from France and be fine with re-arranging our play date. Then I can just email both harpies and have this whole thing be over.

: and later that day :

I got a haircut! I found a picture in a magazine, and it was, like, the only photo of someone with curly hair. So I just Xacto�ed it out, and took it with me to Rudy�s, a supercheap place in Los Feliz. While I was being shorn, I noticed a photo of one of the Ladytron ladies, and I exclaimed that that�s one way I�d like my hair to be, and the hairdresser said, �I love that haircut! It would look cute on you but would require styling products, but it�s not entirely un-doable. How �bout next time?� How �bout, �Are you my new best friend? Can I marry you?� So now I have a chin length bob with layers, and I feel a thousand pounds lighter, and apparently I look like a teenager.

And I just found out that my friend Hilary has an extra ticket to see Bright Eyes tonight, so guess who�s going to show off her new hair do? Yay! Me!

5:16 p.m. - 2002-10-10

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: