powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crepes and crap

Today is Mardi Gras, and like all good French people everywhere, I am going to eat crepes to celebrate. Normally I build an entire meal around crepes�with savory ones, then dessert ones--but due to negligence, we will just have sweet crepes after dinner.

My favorites are very simple: butter and sugar, or just jam and powdered sugar. When I plan ahead, I prepare an apple compote with toasted walnuts. You schmear some of that into a crepe, plop some cr�me fraiche on top, then eat. Very good. TA�s favorite is still saut�ed bananas and Nutella, and for once, we don�t have to shop for those ingredients since we have them on hand.

When I was a kid, I would eat crepes til I hurled. I just could not get enough. I would do the same with my grandmother�s beignets (plain or apple.) She would sometimes make them and not tell me, so that I wouldn�t park myself at the dining room table ready to take on other beignet-eating contenders. I was truly a sugar-addicted, demented 6 yr old.

Last night, I did a backbend in yoga that was almost a religious experience. I swear to God, if it hadn�t been for my legs shaking, I would have stayed upside down for hours. Most days I resist urdva dhanurasana, and attempt to balance the opening of my chest with the preservation of my sacrum and lower back. I approach the pose differently every time�sometimes focusing on inner spiral in my legs, sometimes focusing on my tailbone�to distract my mind from thoughts of pain or difficulty. Last night I successfully tricked my mind into releasing into the pose and it totally worked. I felt euphoric. I hate to sound all New Age-y and Californian, but it�s so rare to have moments like that in life�moments when you realize that your potential is limitless, and that your capacity for transformation is boundless with the right attitude. I know it sounds crazy, but patience and hard work really do pay off.

4:26 p.m. - 2005-02-08

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: