powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

rue-madame's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am that guy in 'Memento'

Out of boredom, I�ve been surfing online job sites for parttime and fulltime design gigs.

Checking the listings, I�ve realized according to my experience and skills, I qualify for jobs that pay upwards of $70,000. Instead of making me giddy, the realization caused dread. I have to update my portfolio! If I want to interview for a position that pays that much, I�ve got to have a book that looks like I spent at least half of $70,000 in presentation. I�ve started thinking about making little books of my projects (so I don�t have to haul the actual projects around--this system could come in handy since 65% of my stuff is book design and books are heavy. And it would work for other 3-dimensional stuff.)

Some woman from a company whose name did not sound familiar just called me to schedule an interview. And I was all, �Hmmm, can you refresh my memory?� So she goes on to remind me that I sent in a resume last week in response to an ad on Craig�s List. Do not send resumes when you�re not paying attention! �Hmmm, yeah. I�m sorry, I feel like I have amnesia right now. What was the job?� It�s book production work, stuff I could do with my eyes closed. So now I have an interview on Thursday at 11. Where? I have no idea. She said she would email me the details. I�m hoping that the listing was for part-time or freelance work. If I didn�t keep a copy of all of my �sent� email, I would have truly NO IDEA what was going on in my life. I checked Craig�s List after I hung up, and I think the listing has been yanked because I can�t find it anywhere. Basically I just accepted an interview at a company I�ve never heard of, for a job that I don�t really know anything about, in a part of Los Angeles yet to be determined, for pay that has not been discussed..

Whose the fucking idiot?

I have to make sure to look superprofessional for the interview to subvert that woman�s impression of me as a total jackass. I just hope the company is not completely cheesy and lame. But if it is and the work is merely Quark production, I�ll suck it up because I have bills to pay and shopping to do. I just saw my dream boots on the Marc Jacobs website, and have to start saving up.

3:15 p.m. - 2002-06-11

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

roll the dice

other diaries: